SSL Certificate

Current News Stories

Baldwin Maskers to Present 12 Angry Jurors
Posted 04/12/2017 02:05PM
Baldwin’s theatrical Maskers Club will explore the criminal justice system with their contemporary staging of Reginald Rose’s “12 Angry Jurors” on Friday, April 21 at 7 p.m. and Saturday, April 22 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. with a potential extension date of April 23 at 2 p.m. Tickets are available by visiting the Maskers Website at

 The play spans a little over an hour in the life of 12 citizens as they decide whether they are convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant in a death sentence first degree murder trial is guilty in a case of patriarchal homicide. As the play progresses, the various biases and perspectives of the respective jurors are revealed and tensions flare. Will the jury convict and send a teen to his death?

12 Angry Jurors was originally written as “12 Angry Men,” a teleplay, in 1954, and was adapted for the stage the following year. It was then produced as a film in 1957. The play has since been rewritten as 12 Angry Women, which was the script the Baldwin School originally ordered. Upon reading the script, director Aileen McCulloch and Maskers, Baldwin’s dramatic club, realized that the characters were depictions of passive women in the 1950s, which reduced the conflict and original energy of the all-male production. The group decided to combine the scripts of “12 Angry Men” and “12 Angry Women,” with permission of the rights holder, Dramatic Play Publishing, and though cast with almost all women, use the title for the mixed gender version of the show, “12 Angry Jurors.” The show was chosen as it deals with themes of discrimination based on socioeconomic status and race, which seemed especially relevant given the current political climate.

Maskers Club recommends arriving fifteen minutes before start of the play, as the show begins when the doors open with a pre-show presentation during seating. Audience members will be involved in an interactive dramaturgical experience exploring racial and socio economic injustice, reasonable doubt, and the United States judicial system.

The cast will feature (in numbered juror order): Emily Thompson, Katrina Conklin, Melia Hagino, Ishana S., Cristina Artis, Lauren Fosnocht, Audrey Senior, Sanjana Friedman, Katherine Mostek, Jattu Fahnbulleh and Ashley Tate. Neelam Pandya appears as the judge, with Lili Ana Balatel as the clerk. Guest actor Lionel McCulloch returns to the Baldwin Stage to reprise his role from earlier this year as the “guard.” Student staff includes Assistant Director Roya Alidjani and Stage Manager Sarai Brown-Alexander. Lights are designed by Jennifer Brown and costumes are designed by Alexis McCall.

powered by finalsite