First LEGO League Teams Win Awards

Three teams of Baldwin “DREAMers” competed at the First LEGO League regional qualifying event in December under their coaches of Computer Science and Engineering Department Chair and Lower School DREAM Lab® Coordinator Stephanie Greer, Grade 3 Teacher Peter Greenhalgh and MS DREAM Lab Coordinator Addison Lilholt. Approximately 30 local teams competed in the areas of Project, Core Values, Robot Design and Robot Game.

Baldwin’s Middle School team of Olivia Choo ’26, Thea Dunckel ’26, Laila Gopalani ’26, Anya Henry ’26, Nina Heverin-Alvarado ’26, Eliana Jean ’24, Evelyn Jean ’26, Camila Tobon ’26 and Daphne Yorks ’26 received a Core Values award for their excellence in the area of Gracious Professionalism.

A Lower School team that included Jellie Choo ’28, Ella Conger ’28, Tisya Desai ’27, Ipek Ergin ’28, Jaina Markel ’28 and Lia Roman ’27 received a Judges Award for their innovative demonstration of machine learning and how it might be applied to identify problems with electrical lines. 

A second Lower School team including Cydnei Crisden ’27, Emma Jean ’28, Vivian Matuch ’28, Sarah Reynolds ’28, Nora Ruse ’28 and Mano Thirumaran ’27 received a Project Award in the area of Presentation. This team presented a unique solution to the on-going traffic problem on the Schuylkill Expressway. Their presentation included a mini working prototype of the maglev monorail with community pods they were proposing. 

Coach Stephanie Greer also won an "Outstanding Mentor Award."