17 Baldwin Seniors Honored by National Merit Program

Baldwin is proud to announce that 17 students from its senior class have been recognized by the National Merit® Scholarship Program. Seven Baldwin students have been named Semifinalists and 10 students have been named Commended Students in the 66th annual National Merit® Scholarship Program.
Christina Cappola, Samantha Eill, Sanae Hagino, Isabelle Lee, Diane Tian, Alice Zehner and Jessica Zhu have been recognized as Semifinalists for their outstanding performance on the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). Of the nearly 1.5 million high school juniors who entered the program, these seven Baldwin students were among 16,000 seniors who qualified for recognition as Semifinalists.
Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, worth about $30 million that will be offered next spring. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. Finalists will be selected based on their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies.
In addition to Baldwin’s Semifinalists, Hana Ahanger, Rhea Jain, Isabelle Kauffman, Taylor Levinson, Iris Li, Ava Olson, Layla Siahatgar, Maggie Song, Bella Xia and Bethany Xu have been named National Merit Commended Students by the 2021 National Merit Scholarship program.