Raphaelina Loke (P ’06, ’08, ’10) Honored with Reed Fellowship

One of Baldwin’s most special traditions is to recognize community members who have shown a commitment to the School’s mission and core values, while making a lasting difference to the School and its students. The Reed Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching is awarded annually to a full-time teacher who demonstrates a passion for teaching at any grade level from Pre-K through Grade 12. This endowed fellowship awards sustained excellence, passion for and innovation in teaching and recognizes someone who leaves a profound mark on the community.
It is a special honor because the awardee is selected by his or her peers, nominated by fellow faculty and staff, through the Faculty Staff Council. The honoree receives a $5,000 stipend to help fund something that will benefit the enrichment of their classroom experience.
Congratulations to this year’s recipient Grade 12 Dean and Math Teacher Raphaelina Loke (P ’06, ’08, ’10). Raphaelina is in her 20th year at Baldwin and is highly respected and known for her selfless dedication to her students. One of her colleagues said, she is “fiercely devoted to the students of Baldwin. She has a deep concern for each and every one and cares about them personally and academically.” Another teacher noted that “she is tough and has high expectations, but also helps students meet those expectations by giving a little extra love along the way.”
This impact is seen with Raphaelina’s colleagues, too. She uses her wealth of institutional knowledge to support fellow faculty and staff on a daily basis. Over the years, she has been an official and unofficial mentor to many – not just within her own Math Department but with other departments as well. Fellow teachers call her a “top notch friend and colleague,” saying that she always takes time to listen and provide wise advice.
Raphaelina’s impact does not end in class or with her colleagues. She has served, over her tenure, as Baldwin’s Upper School Dean of Students, as advisor for the Asian Student Association, as co-chair of Baldwin’s DEI committee and as a faculty Trustee on the Board of Trustees.